About AAU

Located in Hefei, the capital city of Anhui Province of China, Anhui Agricultural University (AAU) is a key university, with a long history specializing in agriculture and forestry. It is supported by the Anhui provincial government, China Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs, and National Forestry and Grassland Administration. It was recognized by the Chinese central government as one of the first ten universities nationwide to establish a Research Institute for New Rural Development, and it was selected as one of the “distinctive universities with unique features” in Anhui Province. Mr. JIANG Chun is the Chair of the University Council and Professor Xia Tao is the President.

AAU started its history as a college of agriculture in 1935 under Provincial Anhui University founded in 1928, it became an independent higher learning institution in 1953 and changed its name to Anhui Agricultural University in 1995. AAU currently has 19 schools, with a full-time enrollment of 22,100 students (including 155 international students), of whom 3,307 are postgraduates. Among the 1,783 staff, 715 are professors or associate professors. Among this group, over 800 work as PhD and master’s students’ supervisors. Besides, AAU possesses 11 national talents and 21 provincial talents.

At present, two disciplines in AAU are listed among top 1% in ESI, and there is one national key discipline in process, 19 provincial key disciplines, five post-doctoral mobile research stations, five A-level and 38 B-level PhD programs, as well as 16 A-level master's degree programs, and 8 special doctor’s programs. At present there are 80 undergraduate programs, including five national-level programs of distinction, two national-level pilot programs, two nationally recognized pedagogical teams, four nationally recognized courses (two superior courses, two national online open courses). AAU has one nationally recognized off-campus internship base, one national-level teaching laboratory, three national-level integrated agriculture, science and education training bases, two national-level pilot projects in advanced agricultural personnel training.

AAU has great strength in research, possessing one state key laboratory, one national engineering laboratory, one international joint laboratory, and 52 provincial key laboratories, two provincial “2011” collaborative innovation centers, one provincial key think tank,  one provincial research institute of industrial technology, one "Innovation Team Development Plan” supported by China Ministry of Education,eight “115” provincial innovation teams, seven provincial university scientific innovation teams, 6 scientists are appointed to the posts of national modern agricultural extension technology network specialists, eight scientists are appointed to the posts of provincial modern agricultural extension technology network chief specialists. During the past 3 years, AAU has  won two National Scientific and Technology Awards,  33 awards in provincial or ministerial levels, including three first prizes in Provincial Scientific and Technological Significant Achievement Award. There are also 83 animal and plant species, as well as 729 patent application, among which 354 were granted. Besides, 3 national key research programs, 25 scientific projects and 140 national funding programs.

With an open-minded strategy for educational internationalization, AAU has set up close links with universities and research institutes from over 30 countries and regions, such as US, UK, Canada, Japan, Germany and Australia. AAU was ratified respectively by China Association of Science and Technology as one of “Anhui Overseas Talents’ Agricultural Bases” and by China Ministry of Education as one of Chinese universities eligible to admit international students funded by China Scholarship. China Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs conferred to AAU one of its foreign language training centers for the South-South Cooperation Project. A“National Demonstrative International Science and Technology Cooperation Base”was approved as well. The cooperation between AAU and Colorado State University of USA has been incorporated into the “China-US University-Based Agricultural Extension Alliance.”

Upholding the school mission of serving “Agriculture, Countryside and Farmers”, AAU has always been dedicated itself to developing rural areas via science and technology and developing Anhui via science and education. It has successfully created a well-known “Dabieshan Road” with the goal of advancing the university through instructional innovation and poverty alleviation. In recent years, AAU advocated and implemented the “Modern Young Farmers Project,” and explored a new framework of agricultural extension, called "one station & one alliance & one center", which is a combination of industry-university research cooperation and agricultural extension highly praised by China’s Central Government  and the provincial government for its great significance and contributions to alleviating poverty through education and industrial development.

Guided by Xi Jinping Thought on Socialism with Chinese Characteristics for the New Era, as well as the guidelines of the 19th NPC and National Conference of Education, rooted in the duty of cultivating national compresensive talents, and coping with the strategy of rural revitalization,  AAU is currently taking the opportunity of developing national“Double First-rate” project, moving towards a high-level agricultural university with its own distinctive features, with the view of making the beautiful Anhui Province a prosperous society.

Tel: +86-0551-65787060
Email: ioffahau.edu.cn
zip code:230036
Address: 130 Changjiangxilu, Hefei, Anhui, P.R. China

©2016 Anhui Agriculture University. All Rights Reserved   皖ICP备05014183号