School of Tea & Food Science
Author:  Source:   Click:   Update Date:2019-01-31

The School of Tea and Food Science and Technology(STFST)evolved from the Department of Tea Science at Fudan University,founded in 1939. After years of mergers and separations, it was renamed the School of Tea and Food Science and Technology in 2004. 


STFST consists of three departments: Tea Science (TS), Food Science and Engineering (FSE), and Food Quality and Safety(FQS). Additionally, there are two institutes of Chinese Tea Culture (CTCI), Tea and Food Industrialization Technology (TFITI) and one Experimental Teaching Center for Undergraduates in the school. 


The undergraduate programs in STFST includes Tea Science (National Key Discipline (developing)), Tea Culture and Trade,Food Science and Engineering, and Food Quality and Safety, Food Hygiene and Nutrition. STFST awards doctoral degrees in two level-B disciplines as Tea Science , and Horticultural Products Storage and Processing, and master’s degree in one level-A discipline Food Science; four level-B disciplines as Tea Science, Processing and Storage of Agricultural Products, Nutrition and Food Hygiene, and Grain, Oil and Vegetable Protein Engineering; and two professional programs as Food Engineering, and Food Processing and Safety. STFST has established a post-doctoral research station in horticulture in 2003.


STFST has five research and development centers as 1) the State Key Laboratory of the Tea Plant Biology and Utilization co-sponsored by the Ministry of Sciences and Technology and Anhui Province founded in 2015; 2) International Joint Research Laboratory of Tea Chemistry and Health Effects of Ministry of Education founded in 2016; 3) Key Laboratory of Agricultural Products Processing Engineering of Anhui province; 4) Anhui provincial Key Laboratory of Food Safety Analysis and Detection 5) and Hefei Institute of Agricultural Product Processing. The school also has set up several teaching practice bases and innovation and entrepreneurship platforms for students.


It has enrolled 1,100 undergraduates, and 500 postgraduates, PhDs and post doctors including 30 foreign MS and PhD students and five foreign post doctors. It employs 86 full-time staff members, including 24 professors, among which are 14 doctoral supervisors and 44 faculty members with a doctoral degree. There are 10 distinguished professors and chair professors, including one fellow of the National Academy of Science of the United States, one fellow of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and one winner of National Outstanding Youth Funds.


During the last five years, the school has undertaken more than 90 funded projects, including the National Sci-Tech Research Plan, “863 Project”, ”973 Project”, Natural Science Foundation of China, and various grants from provincial and ministerial projects, with an average annual research budget of over 20,000,000 RMB. It has been awarded 14 awards for excellent research at the ministry or provincial levels. 200 publications have been indexed by SCI, and 15 textbooks and monographs have been published. The school has been granted over 40 national patents and developed three national or industrial standards. In addition, its professors have received three national-level new tea varieties, six provincial-level tea varieties, and a number of superior tea species. Furthermore, it has won two national and five provincial teaching achievement awards.


Tel: +86-0551-65787060
zip code:230036
Address: 130 Changjiangxilu, Hefei, Anhui, P.R. China

©2016 Anhui Agricultural University All Rights Reserved