AAU and Lakehead University in Canada to Implement a Sino-foreign Cooperative Education Program Approved by the Ministry of Education
Author:  Source:   Click:   Update Date:2021-04-09

Recently, the Anhui Provincial Department of Education forwarded a notice from the Department of International Cooperation and Exchanges of the Ministry of Education (MOE) that the 3+1 Undergraduate Forestry Education Program between the Anhui Agricultural University (AAU) and Lakehead University in Canada was approved by MOE. The Program will start in September 2021 with an annual enrollment of 60 students. The approved program is the first Sino-foreign cooperative education program of AAU approved by MOE.

Sino-foreign cooperation in running school is an important way to promote the internationalization of higher education. AAU has always attached great importance to the application of Sino-foreign cooperative education program, and has actively docked with foreign universities with high quality educational resources and jointly formulated program plans. The implementation of this Program is conducive to further expanding the opening of education to the outside world, improving the quality of international talent cultivation, and boosting the construction of the university's advantageous disciplines.

Founded in 1965, Lakehead University is a public research-based comprehensive university located in Thunder Bay and Orilla, Ontario. In the 2020 Maclean’s University Rankings, Lakehead was ranked Canada’s top 10 primarily undergraduate university and was ranked 13th for employability in Canada. During 2015-2018, Research Infosource has named Lakehead first place of the Canada’s Research University of the Year in the undergraduate university category. The Forestry program is the university's strength.

Anhui Agricultural University has a first-class master's degree and a doctoral degree in forestry, as well as a first-class professional master's degree in forestry. The discipline of forestry was listed in the first batch of domestic first-class discipline construction project in Anhui Province and it is the key discipline of National Forestry and Grassland Administration. It has 6 provincial and ministerial experimental and practical teaching platforms. The major of forestry is a specialty of Anhui Province. In 2019, it was selected as one of the first national first-class undergraduate majors in the "Double Ten Thousand Plan".

In 2013, the 2+2 joint education program carried out by AAU and Lakehead University in forestry was launched after it was approved by the Anhui Provincial Department of Education.. A total of 172 students have been admitted to the program. The feedback from the program graduates is good, and some of the graduates  pursue further studies in prestigeous universities like the University of Toronto and the University of British Columbia in Canada. The first-time employment rate was over 90%.

The approved program further actively introduces high-quality faculty, curriculum and teaching materials to the forestry major from Lakehead University. The program is a four-year program, in which during the first three years students study at AAU, and those who have completed the required credits and meet the English language requirements can enter the second stage of the program at Lakehead University in the fourth year. After completing all the credits stipulated in the education and teaching plan jointly developed by both sides, students will receive a bachelor's diploma and a bachelor's degree awarded by AAU and a bachelor's degree awarded by Lakehead University.

Tel: +86-0551-65787060
Email: ioffahau.edu.cn
zip code:230036
Address: 130 Changjiangxilu, Hefei, Anhui, P.R. China

©2016 Anhui Agricultural University All Rights Reserved